Heatproof, but still Flammable…

Oven Mitt

This is the latest addition to my kitchen! After accidentally causing the demise of my favorite pair of potholders by fire, I needed a replacement. I decided to go oven mitt this time, and used the pattern and instructions from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing book, which was a gift from a friend. The fabric for the exterior was a gift from another friend, and it’s lined and cuffed with other bits of fabric from the scrap bin. Lotta’s instructions call for wool batting, but I used the same cotton batting and Insul-Bright batting sandwich that I’ve been using for my potholders. It was a fun and quick project for a rainy afternoon. I liked machine quilting the swirl. Now to just keep it away from open flames…

I love hearing from you!

